Blog

How to edit or remove a secondary company LinkedIn account

Jun 19, 2017

Linkedin company page

We know what it’s like to get all your marketing lined up. Website, emails, blogs, PDF guide… then someone remembers to include LinkedIn posts, but can’t find the LinkedIn company account. So they set up a new one.

In the rush maybe they missed that there was already an account set up for your firm? Now you have two LinkedIn company pages for your accountancy firm.

How to check if you have admin access to a company LinkedIn account

Firstly, check if you or anyone on the team have admin access to older LinkedIn company page.  You need this to make changes or delete an account.

To check if you have access:

  • Log in to your own LinkedIn account
  • Go to the main header bar
  • Click on ‘Me’ to see the drop down options
  • Then under the ‘Manage header’ you will see the company pages you have access to
  • You then click ‘Admin Tools’ and can edit/delete

If nothing shows there, then you won’t have access. If your firm’s account appears in the list then just click it and you’ll then have full access to make changes.

How to delete a secondary LinkedIn account if you don’t have admin access

It can be tricky to delete a company page without admin access.  The page may have been set up by someone who’s no longer with your firm so you can’t ask them for access. Or you just don’t know who set it up.

According to LinkedIn “Your LinkedIn Company Page can only be removed by designated admins of the page or the LinkedIn customer support team.”

Since you’re not the admin, you’ll need to ask the LinkedIn customer support team to delete it for you.

Steps before deleting

Ask your team to connect their LinkedIn accounts to the correct company page.  To see the team members who need to do the update: go to the page you’d like to delete and click on ‘see all employees’.  Then speak to those people as they may not know it’s an old one.  LinkedIn won’t removed an account with more than 10 employees still connected.

This increases the chances of LinkedIn deleting the duplicate account for you without any issues.

Let your followers know you’re deleting one account

  • If you have followers on the account you’re deleting: post an update to let them know you’re removing that account but they can find you on the new one.
  • You could also drop them an Inmail including the link to your new profile.

Once you’ve done all of that contact LinkedIn here and ask them to delete the duplicate page for you.

They will usually come back to you in 1 or 2 days with an answer.

Take a look at the PF LinkedIn page here.

Comments are closed.